Goodbye, Rob Sherman – My Friendship with a Departed Athiest

( The blog post below I just found the other day, though it was written a few years ago by the Senior Pastor of the Moody church,Dr. Erwin W. Lutzer. Even though it is an older sad post, it makes some points which are still true here in 2017. )

I considered the well-known atheist Rob Sherman a friend.

On Saturday December 10, I was saddened to learn that Rob had been killed in a single-engine plane accident in Marengo, a distant Chicago suburb.
Though we found ourselves on opposite sides of these important issues, our friendship transcended our differing political views. We also talked about his background, his family, and his love of airplanes.
I gave him a copy of John’s Gospel and urged him to read a chapter a day asking the simple question, “Who, according to this book, is Jesus Christ?” I told him he could read it as a skeptic, but that he owed himself the opportunity to just read it! Sadly, when I met him a year later, he admitted that he not taken up my challenge.
Goodbye, Rob. I regret that you did not come to believe in a God who loves us enough to send His Son to die in our stead. I pray that your unexpected death will be a reminder that life is short and eternity is long, and that preparing to die should be our highest priority.
Goodbye, Rob. I regret that you did not come to believe in a God who loves us enough to send His Son to die in our stead. I pray that your unexpected death will be a reminder that life is short and eternity is long, and that preparing to die should be our highest priority.
( Read the full blog post. )

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

