Timothy Burke  Junior high kid I had ( a thought on the Bible. )

( Listen to the commentary or read it below.) 
He was just 38, and now he is dead.

 Hi: I’m Billy David Dickson with a thought on the Bible.

      The other night I was in bed reading our local paper. I came to the death notices.

          As I read them. I came across a young man by the name of Tim Burke. 

            “No it is not the Tim Burke I know.”

                 I got up and checked Facebook. I was hoping it was not him. After checking Facebook I had to face the truth it was the young man I knew. 

     Who was Tim Burke. He was a kid I taught in third grade Sunday School, and then was a junior high leader to. 

      Burke was a neat kid. The kind of kid who you wanted to take home to mom, and dad. 

            Tim went through a lot of challenges in life. His own father passed away when young Timothy was just 9 years old.Then as a high school student he had to have brain surgery for a tumor. 

     He was a small kid, but what he lacked in size he had in a sweat spirit. I recall only having to correct him above behavior one time in junior high. 

 There are some lessons we can learn from this young man’s life. His mom said it was during his youth days that he committed his life to Christ. Tim’s mom also told me after his celebration of life service that he loved me. I hope he knew I cared about him. I believe he did.

    You never know who you are impacting. It could be that junior high kid in church. It could be that senior citizen who nobody visits at the home including her own family. 

   We who follow Jesus not only should share the good news with others, but also share our own lives with them.

    I am so thankful that God allowed me along with other youth leaders to love Tim, and teach him the word of God.

    1 Thessalonians 2:8 reads..

   “Having so fond an affection for you, we were well-pleased to impart to you not only the gospel of God but also our own lives, because you had become very dear to us.”

      Above all I am glad Tim admitted he was a sinner,repented ( turned away from it ), and received Jesus as his Savior. Because of that I know Timothy Burke is in heaven. Which is the only way one can go to heaven.

Timothy Burke I love you, and I miss you. I am excited to go to heaven to be with the Lord one day, and to spend time with cool followers of Jesus like you.

Until I see you again.

That is a thought on the Bible.

Until next time,

I’m Billy David Dickson 
All Rights Reserved, 2017

This blog may be reproduced in whole or in part with a full attribution statement. Contact Billy or read more commentary on https://billydteacher.wordpress.com/.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

