Why a  Stanford football standout is helping at-risk youth in north Omaha

Growing up in Omaha – and specifically in the sports culture – I learned at an early age that not all athletes have an equal upbringing.
It was obvious when I saw the differences in the quality of football uniforms, wrestling shoes, headgear, singlets or even just the water bottles. Kids in Omaha had different sports experiences that were shaped by where they grew up.
While I was a student athlete at Millard West High School, I heard stories of the struggles that certain athletes had to endure. One coach drove 25 minutes every morning to pick up a student and took him home every night after practice because he didn’t have transportation. I also know of athletes who lived with other teammates’ parents because their own neighborhoods weren’t safe.
It was that inequality that pushed me to want to make a difference. That drive was also inspired by my mother, who had an in-home daycare all of my life. I was around kids 24/7 and I always knew I wanted to help children.

( More )

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

